HoopsHype Officiating rumors

December 4, 2014 Updates
December 3, 2014 Updates
November 28, 2014 Updates

The NBA denied the Sacramento Kings' protest of their Nov. 13 last-second loss to the Memphis Grizzlies, but at least some in the Kings organization still think the team was robbed of a deserved victory. Yahoo! Sports

"The referees had a duty to count frames on the replay and they didn't," one Kings source said. "We felt and still feel strongly that there was significant error in this decision." Under NBA procedures, each team has an opportunity to make submissions in support of its position, and the protesting team is required to establish a misapplication of the official playing rules that had a clear impact on the game's outcome. The Kings filed a protest and sent their own video and pictures to the NBA hoping to strengthen their case. Kings officials believe the referees misapplied the rules by not counting frames on Lee's shot when analyzing the replay and not taking into account a late-starting clock, a source told Yahoo Sports. Yahoo! Sports

Kings center Ryan Hollins told Yahoo Sports another reason why Lee's shot shouldn't have counted was because Hollins tipped the inbounds pass and that clock didn't start when he did. The NBA didn't mention Hollins in its statement. But an NBA spokesperson told Yahoo Sports there was no specific mention of Hollins' possible tip of the inbounds pass because the referees ruled he didn't touch it and there was no conclusive evidence in replays showing he did. "I hit the ball," Hollins told Yahoo Sports. "No question about it. You see the trajectory. You even see my reaction afterwards. Even if you can't conclude that I hit the ball, the shot still didn't get off with the correct call." Yahoo! Sports

Marc J. Spears: There is no mention in the NBA's explanation about Kings C Ryan Hollins tipping the ball on Memphis' in-bounds pass thus starting the clock. NBA didn't mention Ryan Hollins' tip because the refs ruled he didn't touch it & replay review deemed no conclusive evidence that he did. Twitter @SpearsNBAYahoo

November 22, 2014 Updates

The NBA announced today that a scoring error was made during the Milwaukee Bucks-Toronto Raptors game on Nov. 21 at Air Canada Centre, which impacted the final score of the game but not the final outcome of the game. Bucks forward John Henson was incorrectly credited with a 3-point field goal when he made a jump shot in the lane with 1:44 remaining in the fourth quarter. The game statistics have been corrected and the final score of the game is Toronto 124, Milwaukee 82. Henson’s scoring total has been changed to six points in the official box score. All NBA games are reviewed to ensure the accuracy of the game statistics. Below is a link to video of Henson’s shot: http://www.nba.com/video/channels/originals/2014/11/22/bops-john-henson-hook-shot-112114.nba/ NBA.com

November 5, 2014 Updates
October 23, 2014 Updates
October 16, 2014 Updates
October 10, 2014 Updates
October 8, 2014 Updates

Any rumor missing? E-mail us at   hoopshype@hoopshype.com.