HoopsHype Referees rumors

December 20, 2014 Updates

The Clippers were called for seven technical fouls, including five during the fourth quarter and three on the same sequence after center DeAndre Jordan told officials that Kenneth Faried knocked him in the head underneath the basket. "I just keep saying, 'Coaches and players get technicals for losing their composure,'" Rivers said afterward. "I don't know if we lost our composure today. I'm pretty sure we didn't." Los Angeles Times

Whether it was Doc Rivers, Chris Paul, Matt Barnes or DeAndre Jordan, the talk was about the officiating and how the Clippers felt like it was 5-on-8 at times. “It’s getting out of control, man,” Barnes said. “Some of the techs we got tonight were … I mean, we’ve got to do a better job of watching ourself, but I got a tech for saying, ‘He’s not shooting the ball.’ (Hedo Turkoglu) got a tech for saying, ‘That’s not a foul.’ I mean, this is just getting out of control, man. “They’re just whistle-happy.” Orange County Register

Johnson's dunk on Andre Drummond made it 95-75 midway through the fourth and on Toronto's next possession, Drummond smashed into Johnson with a forearm and hip smash. That set off a melee that saw Drummond get a flagrant foul and four technicals called. At least one Raptors fan was ejected at the same time after a verbal altercation with the Pistons' Josh Smith. "That was nasty, but that's basketball," said Johnson. "I don't expect anything less from anybody that's trying to win. Frustration sets in when you want to win — no hard feelings." USA Today Sports

December 17, 2014 Updates
December 14, 2014 Updates

Trailing by 7 and with an opportunity to push the ball upcourt, that’s certainly not a time in which they wanted to use that timeout. Carlisle argued with Taylor, to no avail. The Mavericks were charged with a 20-second timeout. “It was miscommunication,” Carlisle said. “It was a misunderstanding that led to confusion. That’s all anyone needs to know about it. He’s a young guy, he’s working at it and it’s not all his fault.” Dallas Morning News

Bayno likes what he’s seeing from Valanciunas, particularly these past three or four games, but cautions there’s still growth to be made. Where the officials are concerned Bayno says he’s on Valanciunas about his body language and appeals to the refs when calls aren’t made. It’s a fine line getting your point across so the officials are watching a little more closely the next time and simply annoying them to the point where they’re reluctant to even give you the calls you deserve. “(From) the young guys they don’t want to hear it,” Bayno said of the officials. “He’s been better but he’s still got to get better at the body language and just play through it and trust that you are getting better at getting the calls. You are using your body better.” Toronto Sun

December 9, 2014 Updates
December 6, 2014 Updates

The question wasn’t only whether Ellis traveled before his game-winner, but whether he had complete control of the ball, which would make traveling impossible if he didn’t. “Did the league say anything about that last play, whether it was a foul, a travel or anything?,” Cuban asked media members. “I don’t think there’s ever been a game that ended on a travel on the last shot. If he didn’t have control of the ball when he was spinning … I’m not saying one way or the other. I’m just saying it would be nice for the league to clarify so that we all understand better going forward. That’s all. “The last few years, when there have been end-of-game calls that were uncertain, the league has said something. For some reason, this year they haven’t. I don’t know what’s happened.” Dallas Morning News

December 4, 2014 Updates

Officially, it will go into the books as a technical on assistant coach Monte Mathis, who has vocal chord problems and has trouble raising his voice too loud. He was stunned when the refs said the technical in the third quarter was on him. Cuban straightened things out postgame, saying the technical foul that was assessed to Mathis actually was called on him. "All I said was, You got to make that call," Cuban said. "No cursing. They had to give it to Monte because they realized they're not allowed to give it to me." Dallas Morning News

December 3, 2014 Updates
November 28, 2014 Updates

The NBA denied the Sacramento Kings' protest of their Nov. 13 last-second loss to the Memphis Grizzlies, but at least some in the Kings organization still think the team was robbed of a deserved victory. Yahoo! Sports

"The referees had a duty to count frames on the replay and they didn't," one Kings source said. "We felt and still feel strongly that there was significant error in this decision." Under NBA procedures, each team has an opportunity to make submissions in support of its position, and the protesting team is required to establish a misapplication of the official playing rules that had a clear impact on the game's outcome. The Kings filed a protest and sent their own video and pictures to the NBA hoping to strengthen their case. Kings officials believe the referees misapplied the rules by not counting frames on Lee's shot when analyzing the replay and not taking into account a late-starting clock, a source told Yahoo Sports. Yahoo! Sports

Kings center Ryan Hollins told Yahoo Sports another reason why Lee's shot shouldn't have counted was because Hollins tipped the inbounds pass and that clock didn't start when he did. The NBA didn't mention Hollins in its statement. But an NBA spokesperson told Yahoo Sports there was no specific mention of Hollins' possible tip of the inbounds pass because the referees ruled he didn't touch it and there was no conclusive evidence in replays showing he did. "I hit the ball," Hollins told Yahoo Sports. "No question about it. You see the trajectory. You even see my reaction afterwards. Even if you can't conclude that I hit the ball, the shot still didn't get off with the correct call." Yahoo! Sports

Any rumor missing? E-mail us at   hoopshype@hoopshype.com.