Referees Rumors

It also determined that with 28 seconds remaining, Miami’s Andre Iguodala should have been called for a defensive three-seconds violation for not clearing the lane when not actively guarding an opponent. Again, the no-call did not affect the Lakers as that possession ended with a layup for Anthony Davis to put L.A. up 108-107 with 21.8 seconds left.

Storyline: L2M Report
After a dust-up in the paint with Jae Crowder, with both players fighting for position, both Davis and Crowder fell to the ground. Then when both players were getting up, Davis appears to hit Crowder in the face with a backhand slap. It was definitely not a basketball play and appeared to be a premeditated hostile act, which would in theory make it a Flagrant 2 by the book, which would result in a suspension. The NBA has precedent for calling technical fouls and flagrant fouls after the fact, even if they weren’t called on the floor. The most famous case was Draymond Green’s below-the-belt hit on LeBron James, which was called a Flagrant 1 foul and only led to a suspension because of Green’s accumulation of flagrant points. While Davis doesn’t have the flagrant points to make it troublesome if the league deems it a technical or a Flagrant 1, the act may merit a Flagrant 2 call by the league, which is something to keep an eye on heading into Game 6.